Christmas in Forks!

img_9619img_9615

In the state of Washington, in the United States, there is a small town called Forks that is buried in a blanket of clouds practically all the year.
What would it be like to spend Christmas Day in another city and away from my family, from my house, from my room …
Alexandra was waiting for me inside the car, it was raining heavily that day and I felt every part of my body freezing.
“It’s good to see you, Angela,” Alexandra shout, smiling as she hugged me. “Was it a good trip?”
“Yes. Well, actually, I did not expect to find such cold.”


– I warned you, but tomorrow the rain will stop and we will have some sun, but the cold will continue.
“Do you want to walk with me through the forest?” Angela asked. “It’s still a few weeks before Christmas, so let’s enjoy it while it’s not snowing.”
There, in the middle of the trees, it was much easier to get used to the idea that I would spend the last two months of the year with a new family and new customs.
It had taken much less time than I had thought. To go through such an experience with the Thompson family was undoubtedly the best of 2016.

No estado de Washington, nos Estados Unidos, existe uma pequena localidade chamada Forks que se encontra imersa num manto de nuvens praticamente todo o ano.
Como seria passar o dia de natal em outra cidade e longe dos meus familiares, da minha casa, do meu quarto…
Alexandra aguardava-me dentro do carro, chovia torrencialmente nesse dia e sentia cada parte do meu corpo a congelar.
– É bom ver-te, Angela – exclamou Alexandra, esboçando um sorriso enquanto me abraçava – Foi boa a viagem?
– Sim. Bem, na verdade, não esperava encontrar um frio tão gelado.
– Eu avisei-te, mas à amanhã a chuva para e vamos ter algum sol, mas o frio continua.
– Queres caminhar comigo pela floresta? – perguntou Angela – Ainda falta algumas semanas até ao natal, por isso vamos aproveitar enquanto não começa a nevar.
Ali, no meio das árvores, era muito mais fácil conseguir acostumar-me à ideia que iria passar os últimos dois meses do ano, com uma nova família e novos costumes.
Demorara muito menos tempo de que eu pensara – Passar por uma experiência destas, com a família Thompson, foi sem dúvida o melhor de 2016.

CREDITS: IMAGE AND TEXT THESCHEME617

Leave a comment